Gard Nilssen's Supersonic Orchestra

Norway, Sweden, Denmark, Poland

Håkon Mjåset Johansen - drums
Hans Hulbækmo - drums
Gard Nilssen - drums
Petter Eldh - doublebass
Ole Morten Vågan - doublebass
Ingebrigt Håker Flaten - doublebass
Signe Emmeluth Krunderup - saxophone
Eirik Hegdal - saxophones
Per ”Texas” Johansson- saxophones
Kjetil Møster - saxophones
Mette Rasmussen - saxophone
Maciej Obara - saxophone
André Roligheten - saxophones
Thomas Johansson - trumpet
Goran Kajfes- trumpet
Erik Johannessen - trombone

The Norwegian drummer and composer Gard Nilssen describes his sixteen-player-strong Supersonic Orchestra as a "barely tamed, beautiful monster". Energetic and experimental, they bring together the precision of Count Basie with the Afrobeat of Fela Kuti and the freedom of the Art Ensemble of Chicago. Monstrously good, also in the interplay of composed elements and dynamic group improvisation. "If You Listen Carefully The Music Is Yours", as they say.
Congress Saalfelden
Stadtplatz 2
5760 Saalfelden

Gard Nilssen's Supersonic