Wadada Leo Smith Golden Quartet & Pacifica Red Coral:MainstageJazzfestival2013

This event has already taken place.
„Ten Freedom Summers“
USA, China

Wadada Leo Smith – trumpet, electronics and composition
Anthony Davis – piano
John Lindberg – double bass
Pheeroan akLaff – drums
Andrew Nathaniel-McIntosh – violin
MengNa Tian – violin
Miguel Atwood-Ferguson – viola
Ashley Walters – cello
Maura Valenti - harp
Jesse Gilbert – video artist

It seems like it’s still possible after all to put jazz in a political context and revisit the sentiments that reflect the situation of Afro-Americans in the USA. Trumpeter Wadada Leo Smith’s project Ten Freedom Summers recalls the battles and achievements of the civil rights movement while at the same time making a highly relevant, controversial commentary on the present. His musical strategy thrives on a freedom that bl
Congress Saalfeden
Day of Event
Mittergasse 21a
5760 Saalfelden